top of page

Galena Pirates

The Galena Pirates really came on the scene in 1985, and they quickly became a state power once they did. In 31 seasons they had only missed the playoffs 4 times, won 3 state titles, had 1 state runner-up, and 12 trips to the quarterfinals or further, with the last trip in 2014 ending in the semifinals. Over the course of the past 3 seasons that mystique of Galena football as a state power has quickly diminished. The Pirates have had 3 straight losing seasons, the first in school history since 1956-1958.

Entering the 2019 season, the Pirates return a lot of talent, and that highly touted fresh/soph class will be sophomores and juniors this season, with some very talented seniors leading the way. The big lines of the Galena glory days is on its way as well, with a sophomore line averaging around 220-225 lbs. The biggest question will be, how much of that size and talent have developed to compete in the new North Division. Galena will still have Dakota, Le-Win, and East Dubuque on their conference schedule, but a crossover schedule that includes Forreston, West Carroll, and Amboy proves to be a tough fit for the Pirates.

The Pirates are 49-26 in the playoffs all-time, and are tied with Dakota, Le-Win, Forreston, and Aquin for most state titles in NUIC history with 3. They are looking for their 30th trip to the playoffs entering the 2019 season. The Pirates 49 playoff wins also leads all NUIC teams for the most in conference history. From 1995-2000, the Pirates enjoyed the longest conference winning streak that still stands to this day. They went 71-7 during that time, winning a state title in 1997 and a state runner-up in 1999. Galena will enter the 2019 season with a home game against West Carroll, and the hopes of returning to the playoffs again.

Galena Playoff History

1980 0-1

1985 2-1

1986 1-1

1987 1-1

1988 2-1

1989 2-1

1990 1-1

1991 0-1

1992 1-1

1994 1-1

1995 2-1

1996 3-1

1997 5-0 Class 1A State Champion

1998 2-1

1999 4-1 Class 1A State Runner-Up

2000 3-1

2001 0-1

2002 1-1

2003 5-0 Class 1A State Champion

2005 0-1

2006 1-1

2007 5-0 Class 1A State Champion

2008 2-1

2009 1-1

2010 0-1

2012 1-1

2013 1-1

2014 3-1

2015 0-1

bottom of page