top of page

Milledgeville Missiles

In each of the past 2 seasons we have seen Milledgeville look like a favorite to bring home a state title. However, each season has ended in the quarterfinals for the Missiles. Once again, the Missiles look to be a heavy contender to reach Monmouth in 2023.

Coach Jason Wroble has stated that his team goal is to compete for an I8FA state title. Last season they lost some close, competitive games to Amboy and Decatur LSA. They lost 2 games to eventual state champion, West Central. They also beat 2 semifinalists in Polo and St. Thomas More.

With quite a few returning starters, the Missiles are motivated from last season because they know they are one of the best teams in I8FA and went home too early. In 2023, Milledgeville is looking to change that and have a deeper playoff run.

One of the main leaders of this team is QB Connor Nye. He has passed for 2,906 yards and 53 TD's, while rushing for another 1,315 yards and 23 TD's. You can expect to see Micah Toms-Smith in the backfield for the Missiles, along with Konner Johnson. Johnson has rushed for 183 yards and 3 TD's, while catching 11 passes for 203 yards and 5 TD's. Joining them in the backfield will be Spencer Nye.

Up front in the trenches will be Jacob Promenschenkel returning to anchor the offensive line. Karter Livengood will be another player that Coach Wroble will be relying on to create space and protect the pocket for Nye.

On defense, the line will consist of Livengood and Bruce Raymond, who picked up 23 tackles last season. Bryce McKenna will lead the defense from his linebacker position, where he picked up 71 tackles to lead the team. He will be joined by Connor Nye, Toms-Smith, Wyatt Meiners, and Spencer Nye. The defensive backfield will be filled with new players that will need to step up for the Missiles.

Coach Wroble feels Amboy will be the favorite returning almost all starters from a team that was state runner-up last season.

Milledgeville will open up the season ranked #3 in the state rankings.

Playoff History 20-24

1974 0-1

1975 1-1

1977 0-1

1979 1-1

1980 0-1

1981 0-1

1984 0-1

1985 1-1

1986 1-1

1987 0-1

1989 0-1

1990 0-1

1995 1-1

1996 1-1

1998 3-1

1999 3-1

2002 0-1

2007 1-1

2008 3-1

2016 0-1

2017 1-1

2018 1-1

2021 1-1

2022 1-1


bottom of page